The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston
The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston
The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston Become A Member Purchase Event Tickets The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston Contact The Gridiron Club

The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston Connect with Us on the Web

Gridiron Club Annual Awards

In addition to the renowned Bulger Lowe, Swede Nelson, and Walter Brown Awards, the Gridiron Club bestows awards honoring between 15 and 20 of New England’s finest athletes, coaches, and officials from all levels of competition.

The club also partners with the Massachusetts High School Football coaches Association to recognize the “Super 26” All-State High School team. The Club under its stewardship also awards the nations' oldest award in men's collegiate ice hockey, the Walter Brown Award, as well as the Joe Concannon Award.

Bulger Lowe Award

Named in honor of George H. "Bulger" Lowe. Awarded to the best Division I-A/I-AA players in New England. In 1982, offensive and defensive categories were established.

Nils V. "Swede" Nelson Award

For outstanding achievement in academics, athletics, sportsmanship and citizenship.

Tom Yewcic "Man of the Year"

Selected by the Executive Committee of the Gridiron Club. Presented each fall at NFL Legends Night dinner.

Walter Brown Award

Best American-born Div I College Hockey Player in New England.

Joseph P. Zabilski Award

Named in honor of Joe Zabilski, Boston College '43, coach of Northeastern University, and former Gridiron Club president. Awarded to New England's best collegiate players in Divisions II and III.

Joe Concannon Award

New England's Best American-born Division II-III hockey palyer.

John Baronian Award

Lifetime Contribution to Football. In 2002, re-named in honor of John Baronian (Tufts ’50), former president of the Gridiron Club and 1982 winner of the National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame’s Contribution to Amateur Football Award.

Joseph V. McKenney Award

Named in honor of Joe McKenney, former head coach of Boston College and distinguished college referee. Joe was a member of the officiating crew in the "Fifth Down Game" between Cornell and Dartmouth. Awarded to the best collegiate official in New England.

Head Coach of the Year

Awarded to New England's best head coach of the year. Divisional categories were established in 2001.

Assistant Coach of the Year

Awarded to an assistant college football coach who has consistently brought out the best in his players and has been an example of excellence and dedication in the coaching profession.

Henry Smith Courage Award

To the high school player who has been an inspiration to all through by displaying exceptional courage twhile dealing with and overcoming especially challenging events or circumstances. Named in honor of Henry Smith, former Gridiron Club tpresident.

Dr. Joseph H. Burnett Award

To the outstanding high school player in the City of Boston. Named for Dr. Joseph Burnett, for many years the attending physician for schoolboy games at White Stadium, Dorchester.

William J. Stewart Jr. Award

To the high school football official of the year. Named in honor of Bill Stewart Jr., long time coach of three sports at Boston English High and a legendary official of professional, college, and high school sports.

William H. Ohrenberger Award

To the high school coach of the year. Named for Dr. Bill Ohrenberger, one of nine founding members of the Gridiron Club, its president in 1945-46, coach of Boston English 1932-45, and that school's Coach of the 20th Century.

Website Design and Development by Discovery Communications Group