News from



The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston

Web site: www.gridclubofgreaterboston.com

Brady Fleurent of the University of New England is winner of the 17th Joe Concannon Award for Best American-Born Division III College Hockey Player in New England

Wins award over five exceptional finalists, including his brother and linemate Trevor; finalists represented teams from Norwich, Endicott, Westfield State, UNE and University of Massachusetts-Boston

BOSTON – March 24, 2017 – <u>Gridiron Club of Greater Boston</u> president Chris Clemente announced today that <u>Brady</u> <u>Fleurent</u> from the <u>University of New England</u> is the winner of the 17thJoe Concannon Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England at the D-II/III level.

The Joe Concannon Award was established in 2001 shortly after the passing of the longtime writer for *The Boston Globe*, who had a great passion for the game of college hockey while always advocating strongly for amateur athletics.

Fleurent, a sophomore from Biddeford, Maine, led all scorers in the nation with 18 goals and 35 assists for 53 points. He plays on the dangerous B-F-F line that includes teammates **Ryan Bloom** and brother and fellow finalist **Trevor Fleurent**. Brady's 53 points broke the single-season scoring record for UNE and helped carry the Nor'easters to the championship game against Endicott College in the Commonwealth Coast Conference.

It was a phenomenal season for Brady and the team," noted UNE head coach <u>Kevin Swallow</u>. "Brady has led the country in points for most of the season and was a threat to score any time he was on the ice."

Fleurent was also recognized as the CCC Player of the Year and a first team all-star by the league coaches for his dominant performance on the ice. Equally important, he has displayed the qualities of sportsmanship and leadership essential to winning the award.

"You always want your best players to be good people and strong leaders and Brady most definitely has those qualities," stated Swallow. "He lives and breathes the game of hockey and brings so much to the rink and with his teammates every day. They feed off his energy, and his enthusiasm is contagious in the locker room and on the ice."

Fleurent outpaced five outstanding finalists, including his own brother in the final balloting. All of the finalists had outstanding seasons and were worthy candidates for the award. They include:

<u>Trevor Fleurent (Biddeford, ME)</u> – the senior forward from UNE finished the season second in the nation in points per game behind his brother with 20 goals and 25 assists for 45 points in just 25 games played. He also surpassed the century mark in points for his career finishing with 50 goals and 66 assists for 116 points in 101 games played.

<u>Logan Day (Seminole, FL)</u> – the sophomore defenseman was an integral element in Endicott College's capturing the CCC regular-season championship and qualifying for their first NCAA tournament. Endicott lost in the quarterfinals to Trinity, 2-1 in double overtime. Day finished the season with 15 goals and 25 assists for 40 points, tops among all defensemen in the country.

<u>Jackson Leef (Ft. Wayne, IN)</u> – the senior forward was the MASCAC Player of the Year while recording 19 goals and 21 assists for 40 points in leading Westfield State and the conference in scoring. For his career with the Owls, Leef finished with 102 points in just 94 games.

<u>Colin Larkin (Waterford, MI)</u> – the junior forward was a NEHC first-team all-star. He had 20 goals and 19 assists for 39 points, putting him over the 100-point plateau in just his third season playing for Massachusetts-Boston.

<u>Cody Smith (Hudson, MA)</u> – the senior defenseman for Norwich proved to be a three-zone player with strong defensive play highlighted by two goals and 31 assists for 33 points. The 31 assists lead all defensemen in the country and the 33 total points virtually doubled Smith's total from his prior three seasons. He was also first team NEHC all-star, and he helped Norwich win the conference title and advance to the Frozen Four for the first time in four seasons.

"This is yet another outstanding group of finalists and as always, it has become ever more difficult to easily select a single winner for the Concannon Award," said Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Committee chairman **Tim Costello**.

"This year marked a season where there was great competition in and among each of the New England conferences giving players greater opportunities to showcase their skills against the best the region had to offer. For Brady to distinguish himself above all others under consideration is a testament to his consistency and high-level performance in every game played for UNE this season. The fact that he is the winner among finalists that include his brother truly make this a unique recognition for the players and siblings as well as the other strong finalists."

The Joe Concannon Award will be presented to the winner at the New England College Hockey Writers' Dinner on Tuesday, April 11 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, MA.

Joe Concannon Award Winners

2001	Keith Aucoin	Norwich University
2002	Michael Carosi	Bowdoin College
2003	Nick Stauder	Salem State College
2004	Jim Pancyzkowski	Wesleyan University
	Michael O'Sullivan	Curry College
2005	Brian Doherty	Curry College
	Joseph Ori	Trinity College
2006	Adam Dann	Bowdoin College
2007	Greg Osborne	Colby College
2008	Tom Maldonado	Middlebury College
2009	Jeff Landers	Amherst College
2010	Coleman Noonan	St. Anselm College
2011	Josh Harris	Castleton College
2012	Jeremiah Ketts	Johnson & Wales University
2013	Colin Mulvey	Norwich University
2014	Jackson Brewer	Trinity College
2015	Jamie Murray	Babson College
2016	Jamie Murray	Babson College
2017	Brady Fleurent	University of New England

The Joe Concannon Award

The Gridiron Club established the Joe Concannon Award in 2001 to honor Joe, a lifelong devotee of college hockey, former member of the Walter Brown Award Selection Committee and, as a journalist, a staunch advocate for the amateur athletes he knew and covered. A native of Litchfield, Connecticut, Joe graduated from Boston University in 1961. He served as sports information director (SID) at Holy Cross before joining the *Boston Globe in* the late 1960's to cover college sports. Joe declined frequent invitations by his editors to write about Boston's major professional sports teams, preferring to concentrate on the colleges, distance running and golf. He wrote the book *Marathoning with Bill Rodgers* and established the highly successful Litchfield Road Race in his hometown. Joe was a world traveler and was especially proud of his Irish heritage, frequently sojourning to the Emerald Isle. He passed away in 2000.

2016-2017 Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Selection Committee and Advisory Board: Tim Costello, Chairman; Joe Bertagna, Tom Burke, Jim Connelly, Ned Cully, Dick DeCaprio, Bob DeGregorio, Kevin Fleming, Steve Hagwell, Nancy Marrapese-Burrell, Paul McNamara, and William J. Stewart III.

Press Contacts: Tim Costello, Committee Chairman Phone: 732-425-5922 <u>Tim.costello@ymail.com</u>

Tom Burke, Communications Director Phone: 617-323-5694 <u>tomburke99@aol.com</u>