News from



The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston

Web site: http://www.gridclubboston.com/

Boston College Forward Cutter Gauthier Is Recipient of 72nd Walter Brown Award as New England's Best American-Born Division One Hockey Player

Nation's Leading Goal Scorer is First Eagle Recipient since Johnny Gaudreau in 2014; BC Coach Greg Brown was Walter Brown Winner in 1990

BOSTON – March 27, 2024 – <u>Gridiron Club of Greater Boston</u> president **Tim Whelan Jr.** announced today that Boston College sophomore forward <u>Cutter Gauthier</u> (Scottsdale, AZ) is recipient of the **72**nd **Walter Brown Award**, presented annually to the best American-born Division One college hockey player in New England.

Going into the NCAA tournament quarterfinal round, 6-3, 190-pound Gauthier leads the nation both in goals scored with 35 and game-winning goals with ten.. He has also amassed 24 assists; his 59 points place him second in the country in overall scoring. Gauthier was a First-Team Hockey East All-Star and is one of ten candidates for the 2024 Hobey Baker Award. He was also a key contributor in the United States team's gold medal triumph at the 2024 International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championship. He was drafted with the fifth overall pick by the Philadelphia Flyers in the first round of the 2022 NHL draft, and his rights were subsequently traded to the Anaheim Ducks.

The 31-5-1 Eagles won both the Hockey East regular season and playoff championships. Top-ranked in the nation, they face 19-14-6 Michigan Tech in the first game of the Providence Regional on March 29.

BC coach <u>Greg Brown</u> stated, "The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston has made an excellent selection in Cutter Gauthier for the Walter Brown Award. Cutter has been dominant on the ice in all areas of the game. He leads the country in goals scored, plays on both the power play and penalty kill, and does this night in and night out while playing against the opponents' top line. Cutter has been an excellent role model for his teammates, driving the intensity level in practice and elevating each of the players around him.

"Cutter is as diligent with his school work as he is on the ice. He supports a number of community services initiatives including The New England Jumbos, BC Hockey Toy Drive, and the BC "Stuff the Truck" Food Drive. Along with his teammates he also supports Team Impact and his Team Impact teammate, <u>Josh Bello</u>.

"In short, Cutter is an outstanding representative of himself, his family, and Boston College. Walter Brown would be proud."

The two other finalists from the field of 26 semifinalists were Boston University sophomore <u>Lane Hutson</u> (North Barrington, IL) and Boston College freshman <u>Will Smith</u> (Lexington, MA). Hutson, the 2023 Walter Brown Award winner, ranks 15th in the nation and second among defensemen with 13-33-46. He was drafted by the Montreal Canadiens as the 66th overall pick in the second round of the 2022 NHL draft. Smith leads the country in overall scoring with 23-44-67. He was MVP of the Hockey East Championship Tournament, scoring four goals in BC's 6-2 final win over Boston University. Smith was selected fourth overall in the 2023 NHL draft by the San Jose Sharks, Smith and Hutson are also among the ten candidates for the Hobey Baker Award

The nation's oldest nationally-recognized college hockey honor, the Walter Brown Award was established in 1953 by the members of the 1933 Massachusetts Rangers, the first American team ever to win the World Championship Tournament. Brown coached the Rangers to the title in Prague, Czechoslovakia, where the team defeated Canada 2-1 in overtime in the championship game. The Walter Brown Award will be presented at the New England Hockey Writers' annual event on Tuesday, April 23, at Prince Restaurant in Saugus, MA.

Walter Brown Award Winners

1953	Ray Picard	Northeastern	1990	Greg Brown	Boston College
1954	Bob Babine	Boston College	1991	Dave Emma	Boston College
1955	Bill Cleary	Harvard	1992	Rob Gaudreau	Providence
1956	R.J. Cavanaugh	Northeastern	1993	Dave Sacco	Boston University
1957	Bob Cleary	Harvard	1994	Jacques Joubert	Boston University
1958	Bob Cleary	Harvard	1995	Mike Grier	Boston University
1959	Mike Karin	Middlebury	1996	Jay Pandolfo	Boston University
1960	Art Chisholm	Northeastern	1997	Chris Drury	Boston University
1961	Tom Martin	Boston College	1998	Chris Drury	Boston University
1962	Dave Grannis	Harvard	1999	Mike Mottau	Boston College
1963	Bill Hogan	Boston College	1,,,,	Mike Omicioli	Providence
1964	Richie Green	Boston University	2000	Mike Mottau	Boston College
1965	Bob Gaudreau	Brown	2001	Ty Conklin	New Hampshire
1966	John Cunniff	Boston College		Brian Gionta	Boston College
1967	Jerry York	Boston College	2002	Jim Fahey	Northeastern
1968	Tim Sheehy	Boston College	2003	Mike Ayers	New Hampshire
1969	Paul Hurley	Boston College	2004	Steve Saviano	New Hampshire
1970	Tim Sheehy	Boston College	2005	Dov Grumet-Mor	
1971	Joe Cavanagh	Harvard	2006	Chris Collins	Boston College
1972	Bob McManama	Harvard	2007	John Curry	Boston University
1973	Tom Mellor	Boston College	2008	Kevin Regan	New Hampshire
1974	Ed Walsh	Boston University	2009	Matt Gilroy	Boston University
1975	Ron Wilson	Providence	2010	Bobby Butler	New Hampshire
1976	Richie Smith	Boston College	2011	John Muse	Boston College
1977	Bob Miller	New Hampshire	2012	Brett Gensler	Bentley University
1978	Joe Mullen	Boston College	2013	Steve Whitney	Boston College
1979	Ralph Cox	New Hampshire	2014	Johnny Gaudreau	Boston College
1980	Bill Army	Boston College	2015	Jimmy Vesey	Harvard
1981	Mark Switaj	Boston College	2016	Jimmy Vesey	Harvard
1982	Chuck Marshall	Northeastern	2017	Joe Gambardella	UMass-Lowell
1983	Mark Fusco	Harvard	2018	Adam Gaudette	Northeastern
1984	Cleon Daskalaki	s Boston University	2019	Adam Fox	Harvard
1985	Tim Army	Providence	2020	Jeremy Swayman	Maine
1986	Scott Fusco	Harvard	2021	Bobby Trivigno	Massachusetts
	Scott Harlow	Boston College	2022	Bobby Trivigno	Massachusetts
1987	Brian Leetch	Boston College	2023	Lane Hutson	Boston University
1988	Mike McHugh	Maine	2024	Cutter Gauthier	Boston College
1989	Lane MacDonald	l Harvard			

The Walter Brown Award

Commemorating the life and works of America's greatest sportsman, the Walter Brown Award is given annually to the outstanding American-born college hockey player in New England. The Walter Brown Award is the oldest nationally recognized honor accorded to individual players in the sport of American college hockey. Brown coached the United States to its first world hockey championship in 1933. The U.S. team, the Massachusetts Rangers, comprised players from Boston College, Boston University, Harvard, Yale, Dartmouth, Notre Dame, and Boston Commerce High School. The Americans defeated the Toronto National Sea Fleas, coached by Harold Ballard, 2-1 in overtime in the final game of the 1933 World Tournament at Prague, Czechoslovakia. It was also America's first win over a team from Canada and the first loss ever suffered by the Canadians in international play. The U.S. team members established the Walter Brown Award at their 20th reunion in 1953. Criteria for the selection committee include leadership, character, sportsmanship, and ability as well as on-ice achievement. The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston has been the steward of the Walter Brown Award since 1977.

2023-2024 Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Selection Committee and Advisory Board: Tim Costello, Chairman; Tom Burke, Jim Connelly, Bernie Corbett, Dick DeCaprio, Tim Flynn, John Gravallese, David Lezenski, Paul McNamara, Mike McShane, Tyler Murray, John Powers, William J. Stewart III, and Dick Umile.

Press Contacts: Tim Costello, Committee Chairman Phone: 732-425-5922 <u>Tim.costello@ymail.com</u>
Tom Burke, Communications Director Phone: 617-803-4826 <u>tomburke99@aol.com</u>