

## News from **The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston** Contact: Tom Burke, Club Communications Phone: (617) 326-7471

Contact: Tom Burke, Club Communications Email: <u>gridironclub@gridclubboston.com</u> Wordpress Web site: <u>https://gridclubboston.com</u> Follow us on Facebook and X (formerly Twitter)

## **Gridiron Club Announces 2023 New England College Football Awards**

## Matthew Sluka of Holy Cross and Thor Griffith of Harvard Take 85<sup>th</sup> Annual Bulger Lowe Award; 13 Others to be Honored at Banquet on December 18

BOSTON – December 1, 2023 – Gridiron Club of Greater Boston Awards Committee chairman **Tim Whelan** today unveiled the club's slate of 15 distinguished college football players, coaches, and officials who will be honored at the club's annual Bob Whelan College Night on December 18 at the Burlington Marriott Hotel.

The 85<sup>th</sup> annual **Bulger Lowe Award**, given to the best players on offense and defense in the NCAA Bowl Subdivision/Football Championship Subdivision (FBS/FCS), will go to **Holy Cross** senior quarterback <u>Matthew Sluka</u> (Locust Valley, NY) for offense and **Harvard** senior lineman <u>Thor Griffith</u> (Portsmouth, NH) for defense. The Bulger Lowe is the nation's second-oldest nationally recognized college football award, after the Heisman Trophy.

The 77<sup>th</sup> annual **Swede Nelson Award**, for sportsmanship, academics and athletic achievement, is awarded to **Brown University** senior offensive lineman <u>Justin</u> <u>Anagonye-Bahn</u> (Southfield, MI) in the FBS/FCS Division and **MIT** senior running back <u>Brady Klein</u> (Washington, IL) in Divisions II/III.

"This is, as always, a superb slate of award winners, and a fitting way to lower the final curtain on the college football season. But this season we're especially thrilled to help lower another curtain, one that is unprecedented and probably will never be duplicated. Our inaugural Dick Lawrence Longevity Award will go to <u>Jim Kelliher</u> of **Abington High**. Jim recently announced his retirement after an incredible 50 years of coaching the Abington Green Wave," said Club president **Cheryl Duddy Schoenfeld**.

Other awards to be presented that evening are:

The 27<sup>th</sup> annual **Joe Zabilski Award**, which recognizes New England's top offensive and defensive players in Divisions II/III, goes to **Trinity College** graduate quarterback **Spencer Fetter** (Winter Park, FL) for offense and **Bentley University** graduate linebacker **Salvatore Lupoli Jr.** (Chelmsford, MA) for defense.

**Head Coach of the Year** Awards to <u>Tim Murphy</u> of **Harvard** (8-2) in the FBS/FCS and <u>Paul McGonagle</u> of **Endicott College** (9-2) in Divisions II/III.

Assistant Coach of the Year Awards to Yale head coach of defense, and linebackers <u>Sean McGowan</u> in FBS/FCS; and to Springfield College defensive coordinator <u>Lou DiRienzo</u> and Trinity College offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach <u>Mark Melnitsky</u> in Divisions II/III.

The **Joseph McKenney Award** for outstanding collegiate football official to **Dan Harrington** of Melrose and the ACC.

The **John Baronian Award** for Lifetime Contribution to Football to **Jim Kearney** of East Boston, a professional educator whose lengthy football career includes numerous leadership positions and awards for outstanding officiating as well as coordination and supervision of officials in two New England college football leagues.

To reserve tickets (\$100 each, \$1000 for table of ten) for the Bob Whelan College Awards Night, send your check to the Gridiron Club, P.O. Box 571, Ipswich, MA 01938, or click on <u>paypal.me/gridclubboston</u> to pay on line.

## About the Gridiron Club, "Keepers of the Flame"

Founded in 1932, the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston (<u>https://gridclubboston.com</u>) promotes the game of football at all levels and nurtures the ideals of citizenship, sportsmanship, leadership, and athletic and academic achievement. A registered 501 (c) 3 non-profit corporation, the Gridiron Club is supported by membership dues, philanthropic contributions, and proceeds from its annual dinners. The Club honors exemplary players, coaches and officials at all levels of the sport and supports worthy charitable causes, especially those that assist children.